Step-By-Step Instructions for California State Budget Call to Action

Thanks for joining our advocacy efforts to ensure that worker cooperatives and other worker-owned businesses are included in California's economic recovery efforts! Please share this with others who may want to join you!

June 16th UPDATE: The June 15th state budget did not include this request. HOWEVER, we are mobilizing to ensure that it is included in future budget action later this summer. We will reach out to you via email soon with info on how you can support that next effort. In the meantime, you can continue to tell your representatives that we need them to support worker ownership! And check this page regularly for more updates and ways to support. Thank you for your help!

HOW TO SUPPORT

INSTRUCTIONS FOR PHONE CALLS:
When you call your representative and either reach them, their staff, or leave a voicemail, you can use the following talking points to guide your statements. 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR EMAILS:

  1. Compose an email using the guidelines below

  2. Attach this PDF of the budget request.

  3. Address the email to your representatives and their staff using the contact information below. If you do not live in any of the districts above, you can still reach out to your representative to express your support for worker-ownership --> identify your representatives here.

EMAIL SUBJECT LINE:
SUPPORT - Budget Request for One-Time $10M Investment in Small Business Retention & Worker Ownership Transition

EMAIL BODY:
Dear [YOUR REPRESENTATIVE AND/OR THEIR STAFF],

I am your constituent and want to express my support for a one-time investment of $10M to support small businesses that transition to worker-ownership. This budget request was not included in the June 15th budget, but must be included in budget action later this summer. This critical measure will 1) save businesses that provide critical community access to goods and services, 2) keep vulnerable Californians employed, and 3) put California on the path to a more equitable economy through worker ownership.

Thank you,

[YOUR NAME, DISTRICT, PHONE # (OPTIONAL)]

CONTACT INFO FOR LEGISLATORS & STAFF:

Are you a resident of the following districts? These are the key budget committee members.  We need YOU to express your support for this budget request by contacting your representatives by phone, email, or social media! If you do not live in any of the districts below, you can still reach out to your representative to express your support for worker-ownership --> identify your representatives here.

District locations and contact info: 

  • Assemblymember Phil Ting (assemblymember.ting@assembly.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 19 includes the San Francisco neighborhoods of: Cow Hollow, Forest Hill, Golden Gate Heights, Ingleside, Lakeshore, Pacific Heights, Parkside, Presidio, Marina, Richmond, and Sunset. It also includes the communities of Broadmoor, Colma, Daly City, and South San Francisco as well as the Farallon Islands. 
  • Senator Holly Mitchell (senator.mitchell@senate.ca.gov)
    • Senate District 30 includes Culver City, Ladera Heights, and Westmont and the Crenshaw, Downtown, and Florence neighborhoods of Los Angeles.
      • Twitter: @SenHJMitchell / @HollyJMitchell
      • Luan Huynh, Budget Consultant to Sen. Mitchell (Luan.Huynh@sen.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 651-4030
      • Los Angeles District Office: (213) 745-6656
  • Assemblymember Jim Cooper (jim.cooper@asm.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 9 which includes the cities of: Elk Grove, Florin, Galt, Lodi, Parkway, and a portion of Sacramento.
      • Twitter: @AsmJimCooper
      • Lisa Ramer, Chief of Staff (lisa.ramer@asm.ca.gov)
      • Roy Sianez, Legislative Director (roy.sianez@asm.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 319-2009
      • Elk Grove District Office: (916) 670-7888
  • Senator Anna Caballero (anna.caballero@sen.ca.gov) 
    • Senate District 12 includes the cities of Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fowler, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, San Joaquin, Chowchilla, Madera, Atwater, Dos Palos, Gustine, Livingston, Los Banos, Merced, Gonzales, Greenfield, King City, Salinas, Soledad, Hollister, San Juan Bautista, Ceres, Newman, Patterson and portions of Modesto.
      • Twitter: @CASenCaballero
      • Aracely Campa De Ramirez, Chief of Staff (aracely.campa@sen.ca.gov) 
      • Jeffrey Roth, Legislative Director (jeffrey.roth@sen.ca.gov) 
      • Capitol Office: (916) 651-4012
      • Salinas District Office: (831) 769-8040
      • Merced District Office: (209) 726-5495
  • Senator Jim Nielsen (jim.nielsen@sen.ca.gov)
    • Senate District 4 includes the counties of: Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Sutter, Tehama, and Yuba. Also includes parts of Placer and Sacramento counties, including the cities of: Antelope, Carmichael, Citrus Heights, Elverta, Foothill Farms, North Highlands, Rancho Cordova, Rio Linda, Roseville, and Sheridan.
      • Twitter: @CASenatorJim
      • Rob Olmstead, Deputy Chief of Staff (rob.olmstead@sen.ca.gov)
      • Colin Sueyres, Legislative Director (colin.sueyres@sen.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 651-4004
      • Chico District Office: (530) 879-7424
      • Roseville District Office: (916) 772-0571
      • Yuba City District Office: (530) 751-8657
  • Senator Maria Elena Durazo (maria.durazo@sen.ca.gov)
    • Senate District 24 includes the Los Angeles neighborhoods of: Boyle Heights, El Sereno, Highland Park, Eagle Rock, Glassell Park, Mt. Washington, Cypress Park, Lincoln Heights, Atwater Village, Elysian Valley, Arlington Heights, Echo Park, Silver Lake, Los Feliz, East Hollywood, Little Armenia, Thai Town, Larchmont, Koreatown, Pico-Union, Westlake-MacArthur Park, Historic Filipinotown, Chinatown, Little Tokyo, Arts District, Civic Center, City Terrace, and East Los Angeles.
      • Twitter: @SenMariaEDurazo / @MariaEDurazo
      • Jennifer Richard, Chief of Staff (jennifer.richard@sen.ca.gov)
      • Bethany Renfree, Legislative Director (bethany.renfree@sen.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 651-4024
      • Los Angeles District Office: (213) 483-9300
  • Assemblymember David Chiu (David.Chiu@asm.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 17 includes the San Francisco neighborhoods of: Bayview, Bernal Park, Castro, Cole Valley, Dogpatch, Dolores Heights, Excelsior, FiDi, Glen Park, Haight Ashbury, Hayes ValleyMid Market, Mission Bay, Mission District, Nob Hill, Noe Valley, North Beach, Potrero Hill, Outer Mission, Portola, Russian Hill, SOMA, Tenderloin, Western Addition, and Yerba Buena. Also includes Treasure Island.
      • Twitter: @DavidChiu
      • Eric Baum, Chief of Staff (Erin.Baum@asm.ca.gov)
      • Riana Kind, Legislative Director (Riana.King@asm.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 319-2017
      • San Francisco District Office: (415) 557-3013
  • Assemblymember Jay Obernolte (assemblymember.obernolte@assembly.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 33 includes the following cities in San Bernardino County: Adelanto, Apple Valley, Baker, Barstow, Big Bear City, Big Bear Lake, Big River, Crestline, Helendale, Hesperia, Lake Arrowhead, Lenwood, Lucerne Valley, Needles, Phelan, Running Springs, Trona, and Victorville.
  • Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (adrin.nazarian@asm.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 46 includes the Los Angeles neighborhoods of: Hollywood Hills, Lake Balboa, North Hills, North Hollywood, Panorama City, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, Toluca Lake, Valley Glen, Valley Village, and Van Nuys. Also includes Universal City.
      • Twitter: @Asm_Nazarian
      • Daniel Savage, Chief of Staff (Daniel.Savage@asm.ca.gov)
      • Autumn McCreary, Legislative Director (Autumn.McCreary@asm.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 319-2046
      • Van Nuys District Office: (818) 376-4246
  • Assemblymember Buffy Wicks (buffy.wicks@asm.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 15 includes the cities of Albany, Berkeley, El Cerrito, El Sobrante, Emeryyville, Hercules, Kensington, Piedmont, Pinole, Richmond, and San Pablo. Also includes parts of Oakland.
      • Twitter: @BuffyWicks
      • Shannon McKinley, Chief of Staff (shannon.mckinley@asm.ca.gov)
      • Melanie Morelos, Legislative Director (melanie.morelos@asm.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 319-2015
      • Oakland District Office: (510) 286-1400
  • Assemblymember Tom Lackey (tom.lackey@asm.ca.gov)
    • Assembly District 36 includes the cities of Acton, California City, Lancaster, Littlerock, Mojave, Palmdale, Phelan, Piñon Hills, Quartz Hill, Rosamond, and Wrightwood.
      • Twitter: @TomLackey36
      • George Andrews, Chief of Staff (george.andrews@asm.ca.gov)
      • Mark Isidro, Legislative Director (mark.isidro@asm.ca.gov)
      • Capitol Office: (916) 319-2036
      • Palmdale District Office: (661) 267-7636

 

For more info on our budget request and who is part of the Worker-Owned Recovery California Coalition, please visit our page here

Other questions? Reach out to WORC Coalition Coordinator and Law Center Policy Director & Staff Attorney, Yassi Eskandari yassi@theselc.org.


Showing 1 reaction

Thanks to our Partners and Collaborators: